Where I’m coming from

4 Dec

Having almost finished my undergraduate degree in history, I made the decision to take a year off from being a student and trade in the gloomy familiarity of Missoula, Montana winters for somewhere, anywhere…in France. I was posted as a high school English assistant in the small town of Saint-Jean-d’Angély in Charente-Maritime, a sleepy department at the northern edge of southwest France. It is from this lost corner that I write my observations and reflections on French places, French people, their language, their culture, and assorted experiences that defy categorization.

My blog title was inspired by the French proverb: “On ne fait pas une omelette sans casser des oeufs” — translated, “One cannot make an omelette without breaking some eggs.” In short, one cannot create something without first destroying something else. I destroy lots of things in my life — exercise regimes, relationships, writing projects I finally deem insincere or self-indulgent, my own personality. But I find this destruction to be, ironically, incredibly refreshing and nourishing. I could more aptly say that, rather than destroying myself, I am constantly recreating myself, reforging my life according to new influences and new people in it. Dramatically speaking.

One Response to “Where I’m coming from”

  1. Pam Henley December 5, 2009 at 12:01 am #

    Your mom posted this for the staff – I’m so glad she did! Sounds like you are having a wonderful experience; I am so jealous. I remember when my family was living in Europe the mentality was so different from Americans: we were so focused on rushing everywhere, getting things done NOW and Europeans were so laid back, with the “whenever” attitude. I thought that’s what comes with centuries of history, houses that have been around forever, families that have always been in the same town. It’s an attitude we’ve lost here, and in some ways I think we’re missing out. Anyway, have a great time – I’ll look forward to more posts.

Leave a Reply

